We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Late January in the Region; first timer. OK time?

Columbia, California
Level Contributor
204 posts
69 reviews
Save Topic
Late January in the Region; first timer. OK time?

This is my first time to the region. Working in Stuttgart and then taking a week by train through to Barcelona, then a flight home. I realize that is is a short time and I cannot see it all, but it is the only time I have. I wanted my first three-four days in any good town ,as a base, then see a few things in the area. I wanted to use pubilc transport, since I am by myself. I like history, nature, old buildings wineries, small towns, good food. On a moderate budget. Nimes, Sete, Uzes, Montpellier, Avignon all seem great.

If you have any ideas of the best town to use as my base, must see spots, good moderate lodging, restaurants, destinations.

I guess by main question is: Is there any up side to visiting in late January?

P.S. I have been reading many of the great postings.

Montpellier, France
Destination Expert
for Languedoc-Roussillon, Montpellier
Level Contributor
2,078 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Late January in the Region; first timer. OK time?

Upside is fewer tourists

Downside is reduced opening for attractions and weather.

Weather in January is changeable. Could be 20C sunny ........ or 5C with rain.

You can follow historical weather here : …meteofrance.com/chgt_climat2/climat_france…

Liverpool
Level Contributor
1,317 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Late January in the Region; first timer. OK time?

Pezenas is a lovely small town, but I'm not sure about public transport links. Sete is quite a large town, but has a life beyond tourism, so could be a good option in January - it has good public transport links too.