We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

where to take a 1-2 day trip close by?

Northern CA
Level Contributor
79 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
where to take a 1-2 day trip close by?

We are 2 couples heading to Loire Valley from the Normandy area for 4 days in July before heading to Paris. 4 days might just be too many in Loire region so we are looking for a place to head to on the way to Paris. Any ideas? I am a professional photographer so picturesque would be ideal, traveling with food & Wine lovers.

Loire Valley
Level Contributor
6,992 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: where to take a 1-2 day trip close by?

I am interested to see you say 4 days may be too many - just the other day in here there were people saying less than 4 days wasn't enough! To my way of thinking, any time you spend here is time well spent.

For picturesque, it's difficult to beat the river valleys - the Vienne, Cher and Creuse, along with their tributaries the Claise, Gartempe and the Indre. We are taking about a thousand photos a month (admittedly not all of countryside), and are always finding something new to point the camera at. We are constantly finding "new" chateaux peched above rivers.

The great thing is that for your friends, there are plenty of food producers around, too - cheese and wine are the famous ones, but we are always finding others - fish, meat, and smallgoods are all made in an around the area.

Simon

http://daysontheclaise.blogspot.com/

Bourgueil, France
Level Contributor
15 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: where to take a 1-2 day trip close by?

I quite agree with Wizard of Aus that 4 days is by no means too much - we have guests staying with us for a week who come back again the following year to see all the places they didn't have time for the first week!