We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ski resorts end of April

South Africa
5 posts
Save Topic
Ski resorts end of April

I have looked throught the forms and not found a similar question.

I will be in Nice end of April 2011.

I would like to take a day trip to one of the ski resorts.

I have never done skiing before and would be going really to see the views. I am keen to try skiing maybe a lesson once I am up there.

1. Would there still be snow on the mountains end of April?

2.Which resort should I go to? it should be on a bus route as I will not have a car.

3. Should I stay over night or would a day be sufficient.?

4. Is it very cold , need to bring heavy snow jackets?

5. How much does it cost to rent SKI equipment and access to slopes/ski school?

Thanks

John

Nice
Level Contributor
12,655 posts
52 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Ski resorts end of April

skiing - isola2000 shuts for skiing on the 25/04/11 valberg 17/4/11 - the others will be shutting around the same time - mid april

You can easily get to the ski resorts/mountains from Nice , a day trip now and then is enough for me, but other folk differ in their opinion

express ski buses are 8euros return if booked in advance

www.lignesdazur.com/reservation/?rub_code=139

There will be snow to see /photograph but not necessarily easily accesible - depends on the weather

ordinary buses to the mountains are one euro

you will need warm/windproof clothes but its usually surprisingly warm when active in the snow unless its actively snowy/windy. However it cools down rapidly late afternoon and can be really freezing in the shade

i have no idea about renting ski equipement as i never ski - i prefer snowshoeing [cheap] taking photos and having a nice lunch

Edited: 23 February 2011, 12:04
South Africa
5 posts
Save Reply