We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

driving, flying, or taking train from Nice to Florence

NY
Level Contributor
17 posts
179 reviews
Save Topic
driving, flying, or taking train from Nice to Florence

I am very recently widowed. We had been planning to drive from Nice to Florence with our 10 year old daughter. I am still going to Nice and Florence, but I am a far more timid driver than my husband was.

What is the best and easiest way to get from Nice to Florence? Is there a train route we can figure out without speaking Italian! What is the best route-- best meaning easiest, with fewest changes and some nice scenery. (My French at least is passable.) Also, from Florence, I thought I would just fly back to Paris, which is where we need to be next.

Do we dare drive from Nice to Florence? How long will that take, and how are the roads, the scenery and tolls? Flying is quite expensive-- especially between Nice and Florence. Can we rent a car in Nice and return it to Florence?

My daughter would enjoy a comfortable train that sold snacks-- and if they have wireless on board, she'd be ecstatic. We have driven, the two of us, from NY to Florida-- so we don't mind long trips. It's just a bit scary in two foreign countries, with road signs in other languages.Thanks!

Thanks for any and all advice.

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
86,987 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: driving, flying, or taking train from Nice to Florence