We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Day Trip - Annecy,Evain,Lyon,Chamonix,or Lichtenstein

Which Annecy hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
167 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
Day Trip - Annecy,Evain,Lyon,Chamonix,or Lichtenstein

So I have been in Lausanne for about 10 weeks now and seen quite a bit of Switzerland that I would like to leave and see some other country before I leave.

Would you guys suggest Annecy, Lyon, Chamonix or Lichtenstein area. I know Lichenstein is far but I'll be able to maybe see a city in Austria too.

I have been to France before in Paris but read that Annecy is suppose to be really nice but what can I really do there? I'm a student and like nature, walks, and would love to try paragliding. If I go to Annecy - would I be able to stop by Telepherique Du Saleve on the way with public transportation? I think they close this week.

Chamonix has the sight of Mont Blanc

I haven't even taken the boat across to see Evain so I don't know where to go to see.

Or maybe I should spend more time in Switzerland and see someplace else.... like Glacier 3000...

Edited: 11 November 2010, 14:13
Edinburgh, United...
Level Contributor
30 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Day Trip - Annecy,Evain,Lyon,Chamonix,or Lichtenstein

Out of all the towns you mention, it depends what you would like to see.

Chamonix would be the best as you would have an opportunity to go right to the top of Mont Blanc on the Aiguille du midi cable car (this would take up most part of the day) . On a clear day, it is worth it. On a cloudy day it is not so good..However, you do get to go up higher than the clouds and then it may be sunny and clear. The town is mainly one street with lots of shops & restaurants.There are plenty of paragliding bases here.