We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Hotel with 7 y/o and skiing

San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Best Hotel with 7 y/o and skiing

Hi all,

We are headed to Chamonix at the end of January and would like recommendations for a very nice hote with easy, easy access to either ski school or the best area for kids to ski (adv.beginner). Am I crazy going over they with my 7 y/o? Neither us of speak French and I will be on my own most of the time.

Also, I'm assuming that for the two of us it is best to rent a driver to Chamonix as I've heard you don't need a car. Is that right or should I rent a car on my own?

Newbury,Berkshire
3 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Best Hotel with 7 y/o and skiing

HI. I am not an expert on Chamonix so can;t help with the detail but do not worry about not speaking French. The Brits frequent Chamonix and all popular ski resorts speak english! Your 7 yr old will love it, I can assure you.

Have a great trip!

San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Best Hotel with 7 y/o and skiing

Thanks so much!

Newbury,Berkshire
3 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Best Hotel with 7 y/o and skiing

I have just remembered a great ski company that a friend of mine works for - it is called skisolutions - try out the website - skisolutions.co.uk. They will certainly be able to help.

Good luck!

reading
Destination Expert
for Chamonix
Level Contributor
2,160 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Best Hotel with 7 y/o and skiing

No problem if you don't speak French most people speak English.

If you want to walk to the skiing then it is either Les Houches or Argentiere.