We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dresden/Saxon Switzerland

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 posts
24 reviews
Save Topic
Dresden/Saxon Switzerland

We are going to be in Dresden for 2.5 days in May. We have most of the time planned seeing the main sights in Dresden, but the pictures from Saxon Switzerland look absolutely amazing, and I would really like to be able to see the Bastei. We will have an older relative with us who will not be able to hike very much, so I wasn't sure if the Bastei would even be a possibility. We will have a rental car, but I am not sure how close you can get in a car. If that is not a possibility, maybe you have some alternative sights in the area easily accessible by car? I am a photographer, so I am always interested in new sights that would make for some cool pictures. Thanks so much for your help!

Colorado Springs...
Level Contributor
4,867 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Dresden/Saxon Switzerland

There is a parking lot at the entrance to the park, and nearby one or two retsaurants.. Taking the whole trail requires quite a bit of walking, but there are a few interesting sights pretty much at the beginning, with little walking. And while the rest of you take the whole walk, your older relative can sit in the terrace restaurant and have an excellent cake (Kuchen) and coffee..

Since you have a car, also consider driving up to the parking lot of the Koenigstein Castle and take the shuttle to the elevator that takes you to the castle gorunds. Again, on the way back, the rest of your party can take the nice walk from castle down to

the parking lot. This is a historically very interesting castle, and it offers wonderful views of the Swiss Saxony countryside and the Elbe river.

Karlsruhe, Germany
Destination Expert
for Baden-Wurttemberg
Level Contributor