We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help me choose a destination for my scholarship?

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 posts
Save Topic
Help me choose a destination for my scholarship?

So I've been chosen for a one month scholarship to study German in a Goethe Institut of my choice in Germany! I've already been to Hamburg and Bremen so I've ruled those cities out and now I have to choose between Berlin, Munich, Dresden, Düsseldorf, Freiburg, Bonn and Schwäbisch Hall. I'm currently studying architecture so I'd appreciate some historical buildings and green surroundings. I'm not that into partying and going out so I don't care about nightlife. Also this will bet first time alone abroad for such a long time! Any suggestions will be appreciated!

Las Vegas, Nevada
Destination Expert
for Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Level Contributor
14,750 posts
53 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Help me choose a destination for my scholarship?

Well, if you want to immerse yourself learning German, then Schwäbisch Hall ( www.schwaebischhall.de ) is the place to do it as it is the least cosmopolitan of all those places. It is by far the smallest of all those places and has a lovely medieval oldtown. In summer, plays are performed on the steep steps of the church in the town center and there is a recreated Globe Theater on a small island in the river as well as a new free modern art gallery (Kunsthall Würth) the architecture of which contrasts nicely with the old town but also blends in with it. It would be my choice of those places.

Stuttgart, Germany
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
7,613 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Help me choose a destination for my scholarship?