We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berchtesgaden

Which Berchtesgaden hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
hoover, alabama
Level Contributor
36 posts
38 reviews
Save Topic
Berchtesgaden

Considering a day trip with Viator from Munich to Berchtesgadan. I have a problem with motion sickness. How is the bus trip there? How long a ride is it? I will be going in July. Thanks.

Cardiff, United...
Level Contributor
624 posts
101 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Berchtesgaden

Hi susanHoover,

I am by no means an expert on this area as I haven't been myself yet but have done a little research already.

It is possible to get the train from Munich to Salzburg and then it's only 45 minutes on the bus to Berchtesgaden. Depends on how many nights you have for your vacation but there is so much to do in Berchtesgaden and you won't be able to fit it in on one day. Also depends on what you wish to do. The train travel from Munich to Salzburg is very cheap - only 27 euros for two - think it goes up in 2 euro increments for additional travellers - I'm not sure but I think it's up to 5 people. The web site is www.bahn.de and there's a flag at the top to change from German to English.

Hope this helps

Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
2,123 posts
76 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Berchtesgaden

susanHoover and valleygirl:

@ “The train travel from Munich to Salzburg is very cheap - only 27 euros for two”

- This will also include the bus that you take from Salzburg to Berchtesgaden. AND all the way back (Berchtesgaden to Munich) if it is the same day.

@ ”think it goes up in 2 euro increments for additional travellers - I'm not sure but I think it's up to 5 people”