We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oktoberfest

Which Munich hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Leeds
11 posts
Save Topic
Oktoberfest

Hey

I was thinking about Oktoberfest next year (2010) for my stag do. There will be approximately 20 people including mostly friends (age 25 to 30) and a few uncles/dads(50+)

I am just beginning my research so any advice would be great, particularly accommodation, prices, transfers from airport etc....

Also, I understand that you need tickets for the beer halls and these can be quite tricky to get hold of??!! What happens if you don’t get a ticket, are there other places to go.

Like I said any info would be great.

Thanks JD

Las Vegas, Nevada
Destination Expert
for Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Level Contributor
14,168 posts
53 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Oktoberfest

To enter the beer tents, you don't need tickets. Tickets are what you get when you reserve tables at a tent which are then exchanged for food and beer (prepayment). Tables are usually reserved for ten people, so this would work out well for you with twenty people and two tables. The beer tents should have websites where you can do this. When all seats are gone, they will not allow anymore people into the tents until some leave. Therefore, although it is theoretically possible for a few people to find seats at busy times, for a group of 20 without reservations it will be impossible, at least to sit together.

To get to from the airport to Munich, group (for 2-5 people) day tickets for the local transportation system would be cheapest. These will also cover all transportation for the day within the Munich Metropolitan area.