We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Looking for old underground pre-wall East Berlin bars

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
289 posts
334 reviews
Save Topic
Looking for old underground pre-wall East Berlin bars

Do you know any good bars in East Berlin that are throwbacks from pre-wall days? My boyfriend was there about 5 years ago and was raving about some of these old "hidden" bars in east berlin that were just old, underground/cellar-like, candlelit, etc., but he can't remember where they were specifically and we can't find anything about them online. Somewhere near Hackeschor markt he thinks. Any of these still around?

Bedfordshire...
Destination Expert
for Berlin
Level Contributor
10,327 posts
103 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Looking for old underground pre-wall East Berlin bars

I'm no expert, but I think there are a few 'old style' Kneipen in Prenzlauer Berg (Willy Bresch, Danzigerstr, Bornholmer Hütte, Bornholmerstr ) and some in Friedrichshain, but I think quite a few of the 'oldie' places are actually 'Ostalgie' (nostalgia for the GDR days), with appropriate old posters, street signs and things. I am sure there are experts on here who can give you better advice, but this might help for a start.

Bedfordshire...
Destination Expert
for Berlin
Level Contributor
10,327 posts
103 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Looking for old underground pre-wall East Berlin bars

This place is a reincarnation of a place I used to go at the top of Oranienburgerstraße, which 'may' have been a genuine old GDR Kneipe, but either way, it was a pretty cool little pub. I haven't been to the newer place, but will do this weekend and i will report back.

qype.co.uk/place/377578-Verkehrsberuhigte-Os…

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply