We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Things to do in Berlin other than museums and parks

Reutlingen, Germany
4 posts
Save Topic
Things to do in Berlin other than museums and parks

Hello fellow travelers,

My family and I are traveling to Berlin this July and are planning to stay 5 nights. I've visited Berlin before (I'm a student in Baden), but It is the first time for my parents and siblings. Based on my own trip and the internet, Berlin is a teriffic place to go to... for museums. The city seems to be famous solely for its history - which is a good thing for me and my siblings, but my 60 year-old parents would most probably be bored to sleep by the 3rd museum.

I am pondering now whether it's worth the 5 day stay. From my memory, all the sights along Unter den Linden can be explored in a day, two tops. One more day could be spent in Potsdam. What other sights are there in the vicinity that doesn't involve musems or landmarks where you snap a photo and leave? Perhaps parks or a really unique castle like Neuschwanstein? Or is there anything else you suggest?

Pardon me for my naivety. This is literally a once in a lifetime trip for my parents, and I want them to enjoy every moment of it. Please please give as many suggestions as you can think of, thanks :)

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29,755 posts
545 reviews
Save Reply
21. Re: Things to do in Berlin other than museums and parks

@ travelsofadam,

Thanks on the tip especially about the Loxx Museum for minature Berlin. I did something similar in Istanbul.

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
22. Re: Things to do in Berlin other than museums and parks

No problem @jordansbulls! There are so many unique things to do & see in Berlin - hard to get bored here!

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29,755 posts