We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Between Berlin and Paris

Which Berlin hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
New York, New York...
3 posts
Save Topic
Between Berlin and Paris

I am travelling by train between Berlin and Paris, and would like to stop somewhere between for 1 or 2 nights. Any suggestions? I am a female travelling alone, I enjoy nature, museums, art, and storytelling a lot. I am also a student, so budget is a concern.

Ideally, I would like to visit somewhere unique that I can rent a bike or kayak and explore. Of course since I am travelling alone I would also like to feel safe. It does not need to be a city in the direct line between Berlin and Paris, but somewhere at least reasonably on the way.

Thank you for any and all ideas! They are really appreciated!

Philadelphia...
Level Contributor
3,650 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Between Berlin and Paris

Given that many of the most direct train routes involve a change at Mannheim, that's a logical place to consider. Or maybe Heidelberg, which is nearby. Either should have cycling options.

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24,478 posts
523 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Between Berlin and Paris

Here is a map I like to use of Europe.

nationsonline.org/maps/countries_europe_map.…

You have several choices based on the map. You have several places in Germany you could go, Luxembourg, Somewhere in Belgium or if you choose. Have a look at those places to see if anything interests you. If not then just use the extra time in Berlin and the surrounding area.

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
474 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Between Berlin and Paris

As mentioned you would have to change trains in Mannheim. Mannheim is home of chemical industry in Germany. I wouldn't stay there if you long for nature.