We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cologne in February: budget self catering

Which Cologne hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
UK
6 posts
Save Topic
Cologne in February: budget self catering

Booked flights for 5 nights in Cologne from the end of next week for partner and wife.

Looking for self-catered accommodation/availability of kitchen to cut down eating out costs.

On a very strict budget! Any thoughts about accommodation? I know it's last minute.

And is the cost of food in the shops reasonable - never been to Germany before but have always wanted to as I'm studying the language.

Many thanks.

sydney
Destination Expert
for Cambodia
Level Contributor
17,416 posts
81 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Cologne in February: budget self catering

have you looked at sites like www.airbnb.com ?

cost of food is entirely dependent on what you want to eat - you need to provide a bit more info before people can help.

What is a 'strict' budget? - better to use a number than be open to interpretation fo what this means

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3,689 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Cologne in February: budget self catering

Can't help you with the self-catering place to stay, but I wanted to say something about the cost of food.

Those living off Hartz IV (social security) get about EUR 4 for food a day. It is feasible to live on that budget, and some politicians even tried to prove that a healthy diet could be maintained that way. But it is something that requires some thought. And the problem also is that, in order to live cheaply, you'd have to buy a packet of something first, which you might not finish during your trip - coffee, tea, cereals, sugar, cooking oil?