We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dusseldorf to Netherlands or Belgium? Please help :)

Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 posts
21 reviews
Save Topic
Dusseldorf to Netherlands or Belgium? Please help :)

Hi,

I'd be in Dusseldorf for a week due to work. I am interested to visit either Netherlands like Amsterdam or Belgium like Brussels. I need an advise which city to visit that is close by Dusseldorf that does not cost me too much travel time. Plus I am budget conscious. :) Please advise me which is better :)

PS: Its my first time in Europe, so I'd like to make the most out of it.

Thank you!

-Liz

Mentioned in this post
Dusseldorf
Dusseldorf
North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Amsterdam
Amsterdam
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Brussels
Brussels
Belgium
Europe
Europe
World
9 replies to this topic
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19,063 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Dusseldorf to Netherlands or Belgium? Please help :)

Forget Brussels, it has a nice square and a cool old town kinda street and the people are nice, but if you only have a choice of one place, Amsterdam it is! One of the best cities on earth

Mentioned in this post
Brussels
Brussels
Belgium
Level Contributor
63 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Dusseldorf to Netherlands or Belgium? Please help :)

If you go to Amsterdam check the deutsche Bahn Site for cheap tickets if you know when you like to travel and a bit flexible with time you can find good deals. There is a direct train to Amsterdam. Would suggest you stay 1 night in Amsterdam and if you want to visit museums you are able to buy tickets upfront and a canal tour is also nice depart close from the central station.

Mentioned in this post
Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
63 posts
1 review
Save Reply