We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First time to Spain: Should I visit Barcelona or Seville?

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
187 posts
1 review
Save Topic
First time to Spain: Should I visit Barcelona or Seville?

Hello!

I am planning a trip to Spain this february for 4-5 days, but I am not sure which city to visit. Its stands between Barcelona & Seville. I have read and heard great things about both cities, so I am stucked right now. Since its my first time to spain I want to expirience some real spanish culture. I like to visit historic places and see some great architecture. I believe both cities provide that.

Usally I love to visit big cities, but I am not sure if I want to do that this time. Is it enough to do and see in Sevilla? Is it a must see city?

So what to choose?

Thank u!

Barcelona, Spain
Destination Expert
for Barcelona
Level Contributor
9,242 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First time to Spain: Should I visit Barcelona or Seville?

These are two wonderful cities and both have plenty to offer, plus some easy daytrips if you run short of options.

However, they are very different. If you "want to experience some real Spanish culture" you probably should better start with Sevilla. This is the capital of Andalucía, whose culture is what most foreigners identify as "typically Spanish": flamenco, bullfights.... There is plenty of beautiful architecture, moorish influenced (again, what most foreigners identify as "Spanish") and some fine examples of modern/contemporary architecture too. Ah, and regarding food, "tapas" originated there.... Yes, Sevilla is a must-see city. You can see its main sights in 3 days, but if you can get 5 days, you can consider 3 days in Sevilla and two in Granada (another must-see), or 1 day in Cordoba....