We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Central "base" suggestions for day trips in Andalusia?

Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
208 posts
52 reviews
Save Topic
Central "base" suggestions for day trips in Andalusia?

My husband and I are planning our 1st get away in a long time, with no kids either probably late April/early May 2012 or possibly Sept/Oct. I studied in Salamanca, Spain, long ago, but never made it to the south. We only have 1 wk because we have young kids and don't want to leave them too long. We own an RCI timeshare and have considered using that, but would prefer a B&B or Parador for charm and more real culture. I'm willing to split it up into 2 locations for lodging, but ideally would love to unpack our bags just once for the wk and do day trips. I know that Ronda is not to be missed and would also like to visit the Alhambra and Marbella/Malaga. Open to any ideas for a town to stay in and/or lodging as well! Gracias!

Malaga, Spain
Destination Expert
for Malaga, Andalucia, Madrid, Zaragoza, Valencia, Seville
Level Contributor
62,567 posts
3,723 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Central "base" suggestions for day trips in Andalusia?

Malaga is the center of Andalusia and there are buses to Ronda and Granada.

If you want to see the Alhambra, read Buying Alhambra Tickets Online.

London, United...
Destination Expert
for Costa de la Luz
Level Contributor
21,143 posts
284 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Central "base" suggestions for day trips in Andalusia?

You mention Paradors - did you look at the Paradors in Andalucia on the Parador.es map? The one in Antequera is a modern one with outdoor swimming pool in Summer so may be suitable for visits to Granada, Malaga, Ronda, Marbella, Cordoba, Seville. But each trip does require quite a journey.

http://www.parador.es/en/parador-de-antequera