Here is some background of this market:
Where the Atarazanas Market is today, there used to be a naval workshop where boats could dock for repairs. There were seven arches that date back to the Nazari period in the 14th century. In the early 19th century the building was almost in ruins and in 1868 the local government decided to tear down the building, except for the biggest arch. The city decided to build a public market in its place and incorporate the arch as the entrance. The architect of the market was Joaquin de Rucoba, who finished the project in 1879. The market was declared a Historic-artistic Monument in 1979. At the end of the 19th century, it was considered as progress the construction of public markets, and the ones in Madrid and Barcelona were constructed around the same time period.
The style of the market is Neo-Arab. The arch is a slightly pointed horseshoe arch made of white marble. It was actually moved a little to put it in the middle of the facade of the market. The metal structure of the market was made by the Perez Hermanos company of Seville.
In 1908 there was a reconstruction of part of the market that was carried out by the architect Fernando Guerrero Strachan. That was when the large stained glass window at the back of the building was put in. This stained glass shows various monuments of the city, such as the Cathedral, the Gibralfaro mountain, the entrance of the Sagrario Chapel, and the Fountain of the Three Graces.
The last reconstruction started in 2008 and was finished in 2010. A new roof of tile was put in, with the green and brown colors of the original building. The stained glass window at the back was completely disassembled and restored. There are 260 market stalls in the building.