We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Visiting Malaga in May 2014- Need valuable input

Which Malaga hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Columbus, Ohio
3 posts
Save Topic
Visiting Malaga in May 2014- Need valuable input

Hello all,

I, and wife, are visiting Malaga in May. I have to be there for a meeting on May 12. This is my first time in Spain and needed some input on planning the trip. I know I can dig the forum and come up with most of the answers, and I have already done some.

I plan on leaving US on May 8, arrive on 9th and then return on 16. I have a choice to arrive in Madrid, rent a car, drive to Granda for one night stay and visit to Alhambra etc, proceed to Malaga on 10th, visit to Seville and possibly other day-trip to reachable spots and finally a return drive via Cordoba for a night's stay at Madrid and out.

Or I can fly into Malaga and rent a car there for travelling around.

Alternatively, I can simply fly into Malaga and check into my hotel from where I can avail daily organized bus tours before returning the same way.

I am a hands-on type and like to control my own itinerary. I wonder if driving, especially parking at intensely traveled tourist spots, is going to be problematic. I have read some stories about the crazy Spanish driving, cops ticketing, towing and charging excessive fines from errant drivers and this scares me into taking the easy way out.

Can anyone dispense valuable advice?.

Accept my thanks in advance.

Arroyo de la Miel...
Level Contributor
14,726 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Visiting Malaga in May 2014- Need valuable input