We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelling Alone - Northern Spain

Reus, Spain
Level Contributor
11 posts
15 reviews
Save Topic
Travelling Alone - Northern Spain

Hello

I am looking for a bit of advice (i'm not very good at making decisions!!!!) ;-)

I have to travel from Ourense in Galicia to Catalunya (I currently live in Reus, Tarragona Province) in August. I have as much as 10 days to do this, so I would like to travel an interesting route.

I will be travelling alone, I am 28 and female. (it's the first time I will have travelled this much on my own!)

I will have travelled around Galicia by the time I take this trip so I am thinking my first stop will be Leon (this is easiest public transport wise). I will be relying on public transport for the journey. The reason I have kept to the bigger places is because I will be on my own, so I am hoping that I will be able to meet people in hostels for the evenings! However, I would quite like to see some of the smaller towns on route if they have places I could go of an evening.

Possible Itinerary

Leon - Oviedo

Oviedo - ????

???? - Santander

Santander - Bilbao

Bilbao - San Sebastian

San Sebastian - ????

????? - Zaragoza

Zaragoza - Reus

My main questions are;

1) Is there anything glaringly obvious that I have missed off this route?

2) Is there anywhere that I should stop in between Oviedo and Santander

3) Same question San Sebastian - Zaragoza

I am interested in art and architecture so museums and cathederals will be of particular interest! Also in Oviedo a good cider bar recommendation would be great!

I would be interested in walking/countryside, but not sure of the feasibility of doing this on a group tour when I'm not going to be based anywhere in particular.