We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wheelchair/Disabled Help Chaos in Palma Airport

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 posts
11 reviews
Save Topic
Wheelchair/Disabled Help Chaos in Palma Airport

Just back from Majorca and fyi - the wheelchair assistance today was not only chaotic but unsafe. I am a registered nurse and brought my 88 year old mother through today. My advice is - if you can, bring an able bodied person with you through the wheelchair assistance route, and preferably one who speaks some Spanish! We have been through the airport before and it was okay but today was total chaos. Not enough wheelchairs, staff rushing people with impaired mobility around, broken footpads on wheelchairs, staff not using brakes on wheelchairs, security staff getting people in wheelchairs to stand up unaided....it took one woman an hour and a half to get from check in to the gate using wheelchair assistance. Another woman had requested wheelchair assistance in advance but was told there was none available for her and she had to walk the whole way to the boarding gate with very swollen ankles due to a heart conditon. Not for the faint hearted!!! If you don't have a companion, speak out and tell them to slow down or to put the brakes on. Because otherwise, someone will get their leg gashed or have a fall, and you don't want that. Safe journey and good luck!

wirral
Level Contributor
18,927 posts
108 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Wheelchair/Disabled Help Chaos in Palma Airport