We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Need lots of advice to make a good decision! =)

Phoenix
Level Contributor
36 posts
Save Topic
Need lots of advice to make a good decision! =)

So I am flying into Barcelona from the United States. I leave from Phoenix, Arizona early in the morning on September 16, fly into New York City, transfer, and go straight to Barcelona for a total of 17hrs airport travel time.

I arrive in Barcelona on September 17th in the morning, but anticipate being exhausted from the travel.

I leave Barcelona September 24th in the late morning.

So basically I have 6 full days in Barcelona.

This is my first time in Europe, and it looks like the cheapest and fastest way to check out other places is through some of the low cost air carriers like ryanair or easyjet. I have heard awful things about ryanair - like the CEO wanting to charge to use the restroom on the plan - ludicrous! I dont know anything about easyjet, but it looks like they may have hidden fees also.

I am wondering if I chose to travel to somewhere else like italy, or switerland, or paris, or maybe one of the islands?

1) How much time is going to be eaten up at the airports.

2) Am I going to have to go through customs again in Barcelona? How about at my destination like italy, paris, etc? Do I have to go through customs there also?

3) If I do decide to go should I stay the night? I would probably keep my hotel room in Barcelona for convenience of leaving bags there and not having to switch hotels.

4) If I should go. Where should I go?! What would be a good day trip?

I realie there are a million different answers, but thats EXACTLY what I am looking for. So answer away! ;-)

Thanks!

France, Andorra, and Spain from...
1,045 reviews
from US$146.60*
Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada...
2,947 reviews