We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

Which Madrid hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
UAE
1 post
Save Topic
Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

I will be in Madrid on March 2013 for 3 nights and then driving directly to Barcelona for 4 nights. I'm wondering, how long does the drive takes? and is it safe? is it OK to make the drive overnight? are there a restaurants or stops on the way? any recommended city or sightseeing that we must to visit during this trip? any other tips?

I appreciate your support as this is my first time in Spain!

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
82,143 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

Why would you want to drive? It will take you at least 6 hours of driving (plus stops) on busy toll motorways. A train would get you there much faster and with less stress.

Malaga, Spain
Destination Expert
for Malaga, Andalucia, Madrid, Zaragoza, Valencia, Seville
Level Contributor
55,011 posts
3,463 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

Black:

You can take the AVE with less effort. Read Buying Renfe Tickets Online.

According to the Via Michelin website, you can go there in 6 hours and 12 minutes by the most rapid highways. It is about 600 km.

Torremolinos, Spain
Destination Expert
for Torremolinos
Level Contributor
14,076 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Driving from Madrid to Barcelona

You really don't want to have a car in Madrid or Barcelona either, it will be an absolute pain. Both cities have excellent public transport systems and relatively inexpensive taxis. Don't hire a car for a two-city holiday.

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
826 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Driving from Madrid to Barcelona