We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

One night in Madrid

Which Madrid hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Mdina, Malta
Level Contributor
67 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
One night in Madrid

Hey everyone,

I arrive in Madrid Barajas airport at 8pm in the beginning of July. I am leaving for Morocco the following morning at 9.50am, so just over 13 hours in the city. I am thinking I should be at the airport by 8.15am.

Do you think;

1. I should just find a hotel close to the aiport and stay there - the likeliest is Hotel Nuevo Boston (any other recommendations are welcome - the cheaper the better as I am a student).

2. Go into the city centre, stay in a hostel. Arrive in city at around 9pm giving me an evening to explore, and go to the airport in the morning. Is this worth it?

Money is a consideration, but I don't mind paying for a hostel in the centre and the added transportation costs, if people think I will be able to see something during the evening.

Any replies are supremely welcome!

Malaga, Spain
Destination Expert
for Malaga, Andalucia, Madrid, Zaragoza, Valencia, Seville
Level Contributor
56,666 posts
3,568 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: One night in Madrid

adscassia:

International flights require being at the airport at least 2 hours before the flight.

Yes, you can go downtown to taste Madrid. Good place to go would be Cava Baja:

…blogspot.com.es/2009/04/cava-baja-my-favori…

Madison, Wisconsin
Destination Expert
for Madrid
Level Contributor
8,111 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: One night in Madrid

IMO, two recommended hostals on TA Madrid forum. Hostal Andriano with unique decor, lift to its floor, small bathrooms, and on very noisy street (Calle de Cruz). If noise is issue, ask for back room.