We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel confused

Level Contributor
4 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Hotel confused

Hello,

It's my first time in Madrid I'm going with my husband for New Years n then to Barcelona for my bday.

I was looking for hotels but so confused on which area or district to stay in Madrid

I want to go sightseeing n be near everything

Does anyone have any hotel recommendation please. Thank you

Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
63,506 posts
3,726 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hotel confused

May:

Plaza Santa Ana and the GranVia are close to downtown.

For upscale hotels, stay at the Barrio Salamanca. I usually stay at the Melia Galgos by Calle Serrano.

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8,115 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Hotel confused

Agree with Benny. We prefer the Plaza de Santa Ana because it's nearer the museums and still close to the Puerta del Sol (very center of city) All major sights are within walking distance.

Level Contributor
4 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Hotel confused

thank u so much for ur help im going to check hotels in Santa Ana district. thank u

Seattle, Washington
Destination Expert
for Seattle
Level Contributor
2,843 posts
178 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Hotel confused

I don't really care for the mad bustle and major mainstream shopping area immediately around the Puerto del Sol (except for the Oso y Madrono statue and La Mallorquina bakery). However that area is most centrally located. The Plaza Santa Ana is a great plaza for dining and also very centrally located and connects easily to the museum area and a great cluster of tapas restaurants in Las Letras via the C.Huertas.