We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train Travel

Brisbane, Australia
5 posts
Save Topic
Train Travel

Hi,

I am going to Italy next year, and will be taking a number of regional trains. This is my first time overseas, so it is all quite new to me. My first question is: When you buy a ticket at a station, can this ticket cover train transfers e.g. I will be travelling from Bergamo to Turin. Since this journey usually has a transfer at Milan, will I initially just get a ticket from Bergamo-Milan then another from Milan-Turin, or will one ticket from Bergamo-Turin cover all transfers in between. My Second question is: I am used to having an upcoming station announced on the train itself here in Australia. Is it the same in Italy? Will there be some way of knowing which station is yours and when to get off?

Sorry if these sound like dumb questions, but i would really appreciate it if someone could help.

Thanks.

Special Offer
Waking Up the Vatican: VIP...
58 Reviews
from US$371.90*
US$531.20
Best Seller
Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, St...
24,125 Reviews
from US$73.40*
Best Seller
Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and...
12,126 Reviews
from US$58.00*
28 replies to this topic
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3,098 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Train Travel

You buy your ticket for the entire trip. It will cover changes. This is preferable, so that in case of delays and missed trains, they will put you on a different train for free (after you go and stand in line at the office to complain).

If possible, take fast trains with reserved seats. On the regional trains, you might not find a seat at all during the rush hour when a lot of Italian students amd workers are travelling.