We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Planning 2011 dream family vacay to Italy - please help!

Milwaukee
2 posts
Save Topic
Planning 2011 dream family vacay to Italy - please help!

During college I studied abroad in Rome, and consequently, my family has given me the task (not complaining!) of planning our family's dream summer vacation to Italy. Based on our interests and travel ability, I've decided to book hotels in Florence, Siena and Rome and plan day trips from these major cities. Tips on Tuscan towns to see, best mode of transportation (bus vs. train), best family attractions/activities etc. are much appreciated!

Family requests - Venice, Siena (favorite!), Cortona & Pompei

While 'based' in Florence - what cities are day-trip worthy?

- Lucca?

- San Gimignano?

-Venice?

-other suggestions on must-sees?

While 'based' in Siena, what cities are day-trip worthy?

- Cortona?

-San Gimignano? (Better as a day trip from Florence or Siena)

- other suggestions on must-sees?

We will be in Rome for the final 5 days of our trip. From there we will visit Pompei. Any other must-see day trips? (I was thinking Tivoli, weather permitting.)

Any suggestions on trusted tour companies to book day trips with?

THANK YOU! With your help, hopefully I will be able to plan a memorable Italian vacation for my very excited family!

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
450 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Planning 2011 dream family vacay to Italy - please help!

Sounds like a wonderful plan. San G from Siena and Lucca from Florence would be my recommendation, but I fear that trying to do a day trip to Venice is to slight Venice and either have a very, very long day or a much too short visit.