We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Organised Tours versus planning my own trip

Melbourne, Australia
4 posts
Save Topic
Organised Tours versus planning my own trip

Hi Everyone I'm new to Tripadvisor and this is my first enquiry.

After attending a travel expo and coming home armed with more travel brochures than is reasonable for any human to require, I got confused. So many fantastic tours thoughout Europe and also within specific countries. So I have narrowed it down to....If I were to never go again (God forbid) where would I regreat not seeing....answer Italy Greece and Croatia....My question therefore is ......Do you think it would be manageable to travel these countries on our own or better to take tours within these countries? friends have said the public transport systems are fantastic and user friendly so don't waste the dollars on tours. Also what do you feel about hiring cars in Europe? from what I've read heard and been advised, driving there is quite scary!! and one more sly question on the back of all this .....From Australia the flights are quite expensive....was thinking of flying in to London or Paris and training it to Italy to begin with....any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.....happy travels to you all and thanks in advance :0)

Maryland
Level Contributor
1,461 posts
85 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Organised Tours versus planning my own trip

Good to have narrowed down the countries you will want to see, try and narrow down where you want to go in those countries and also what you want to do and see. How many days you can spare will also determine what you can do.