We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train Ticket Prices

Mobile, Alabama...
Level Contributor
22 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Train Ticket Prices

My husband and I are vacationing in Italy in August. I've never used a travel agent before, but his family has used one for years--so we went to them to book our hotels and train tickets between cities. They just emailed us with the train ticket prices....for two people--Rome/Florence and Florence/Venice-- they said the cost is $1,250?!? I've looked online at trenitalia and italoreno--I can't find anything that expensive. Is there some crazy cost I don't know about or do I have a terrible travel agent?

Side note-- anyone have a preference as to which train is better? I just care that it gets us to our destinations on time and that its clean and safe.

Ocean City, MD
Level Contributor
10,616 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Train Ticket Prices

The fast train between Rome & Florence is 1h27m and 43 Euro, between Florence and Venice its 2h05m and 45 Euro, second class which is perfectly fine. The total of 176 Euro for 2 ($230.00 US). Did the travel agent put a $1,000 fee on them?

There are economy fares that sell out quick, such as 9 Euro, 19 Euro and 29 Euro. (non refundable or changeable).

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
41,101 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Train Ticket Prices

I would first confirm that those are the true prices or they made some mistake with a decimal or something.

The www.trenitalia.com prices are accurate - there is no better source; it is the source as it is the site for the Italian train system.

Use station names: Roma Termini, Firenze S M Novella and Venezia S Lucia