We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveling to Italy in April 2014....

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Traveling to Italy in April 2014....

Hi. My friend and I are meeting my niece in Italy that's studying in Denmark (April 11-20) during spring break. Since we're flying standby with United we're flexible with our destination and departure airports. We'd like to visit Rome, Venice and maybe Milan. Does anyone have any suggestions to where we should start and finish? Should we take a train or fly within Euro countries? What train service is available? Hotel suggestions? Things to do?

Thank you in advance for any information. This is my first time in Europe and I want to have a great experience. :)

Ocean City, MD
Level Contributor
9,879 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Traveling to Italy in April 2014....

Are you returning to the U.S. from Italy? As you are flexible, try and get an open jaw ticket.

The fast train between Rome and Venice is just shy of 4 hrs. Usually 1st time visitors visit the Rome, Florence & Venice, the fast train from between Rome and Florence is 1.5 hrs and Florence to Venice 2 hrs. Use the Italian names for the station: Roma Termini, Firenze S.M. Novella & Venezia S. Lucia.

www.trenitalia.com

These 2 sites let you look for accommodations by price, location and amenities. The star system in Italy is different than the U.S., i.e. a star for having an elevator or 24 hr reception. I've stayed in some very nice 2 & 3 star hotels and B&B's.

www.venere.com and www.booking.com

All three cities mentioned above are quite compact and walkable. I can't help with Milan, haven't been there.

north carolina
Level Contributor
6,476 posts
145 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Traveling to Italy in April 2014....