We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How Long to See Rome (Reasonably)?

New Orleans...
Level Contributor
32 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
How Long to See Rome (Reasonably)?

My wife and I will be in Italy for ten days or so in late July early August and wish to split time between Rome and one another destination (perhaps something near the water, my wife probably deserves some beach time after being dragged about Rome from one ancient monument to another for several days). I wondered if someone who knows Rome fairly well could give me an idea how long it would take to see the city's treasures without rushing like crazy from one thing to the next and, second, where we might best enjoy a few days of relaxation at the end of our trip. I am a PhD student in Roman history, travelling to the eternal city for the first time, so I might take longer at certain monuments than most tourists. I also realize that we will be there during the height of tourist season and this could slow us up a bit. Outside the city, I would like to visit Hadrian's Villa at Tivoli and Pompeii. One thought would be to spend the first six or seven days in Rome and then, travel to the Bay of Naples for another three or so and stay at Sorrento or thereabouts and make the Pompeii excursion from there. I understand that Forte dei Marmi in Tuscany has some of the most beautiful beaches anywhere, so I wonder if staying there after spending a week in Rome would be worthwhile also. Anyway, anyone who could help me to solidify my trip agenda would be most appreciated.

Mentioned in this post
Italy
Italy
Europe
Rome
Rome
Lazio, Italy
Pompeii
Pompeii
Province of Naples, Italy
Naples
Naples
Sorrento
Sorrento
Monumento ai caduti per la causa di Roma Italiana
Monuments & Statues, Points of Interest & Landmarks
Statua Marforio