We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Upscale and/or unique hotel or B&B near the Forum/Colosseum?

Level Contributor
116 posts
24 reviews
Save Topic
Upscale and/or unique hotel or B&B near the Forum/Colosseum?

Would love suggestions for a hotel or B&B with a knockout location in southeast-ish Rome.

I'm going to be in the city for one night and one full day before heading to Lanciano for a wedding. It's my first time to Rome, I'm traveling by myself, and I want to optimize the free day I have by exploring the area on foot. I plan to wake up at dawn, so ideally it would be a somewhat safe location for me to walk around at a time of day that's not very busy.

I'll be coming back into Rome later in the trip and will be exploring the Villa Borghese and Spanish Steps, etc., area with a group, so I don't need to be near those attractions.

Ideally, I'd stay someplace very near ruins or a historically important site (not like Rome isn't a historically important site itself!). Because it's just one night, this typically budget traveler is willing to splurge to get what she wants.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Montreal
Level Contributor
17,790 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Upscale and/or unique hotel or B&B near the Forum/Colosseum?

You can go upscale to over-the-top - Hotel Forum, Hotel Capo d'Africa, Inn at the Roman Forum - but you don't have to: the Hotel Lancelot is a well-liked three-star.

The area (Colosseo) is safe, and you can use www.venere.com to look at available accommodation in all price ranges. Guest ratings are more reliable than star ratings.

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
1,500 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Upscale and/or unique hotel or B&B near the Forum/Colosseum?