We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

apartment rental agencies/ travel agents

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
60 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
apartment rental agencies/ travel agents

I will be travelling to Rome in August, with my husband, 3 kids, and possibly an adult friend. It is clear from reading the many posts here as well as other sites that a vacation apartment would suit our needs better than a hotel. However, I have never done a vacation rental ANYWHERE before, and I am a) overwhelmed b) too busy to do a ton of research.

I have searched through posts on this forum, and looked at SlowTravel.com. Some of my friends have told me I should use a rental agency rather than VRBO. Why is that? And also, my friends say to go with a US based rental agency? Is that really a good idea? And would they have a person in Rome to help out if things go wrong?

I've also read to only use a rental agency or owner that accepts credit cards. That makes a ton of sense to me. Is it hard to find agencies that do credit cards?

Is it hard to find an apartment with Internet service? I can't go without my Internet fix each day!!!

And finally, given that we are really busy and are having trouble finding time to research this, should we use a travel agent? Are there travel agents who can handle apartment rentals? Does anyone want to recommend a travel agent?

Thanks!!!!!

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31,191 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: apartment rental agencies/ travel agents

www.vrbo.com are a well established accommodation agency also www.venere.com www.airbnb.com www.ownersdirect.co.uk

www.romeinfo

Takapuna, New...
Level Contributor
3,501 posts
40 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: apartment rental agencies/ travel agents