We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip Report(long) - Rome trip Jan 9-14, 2007

Fairfield...
Level Contributor
100 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Trip Report(long) - Rome trip Jan 9-14, 2007

I am new to tripadvisor, but I used this website a lot when I was researching and planning for my trip to Rome. My family and I had a blast! Here’s my trip report:

Tuesday

Arrived in Rome just after 8pm, and the airport transportation that we had arranged through the USO in Rome was waiting for us and they took us to Fraterna Domus.

Wednesday

We got tickets from the sisters at the convent and headed up to the Vatican for the papal audience. The auditorium wasn’t full, and we got to sit about ¼ of the way back from the stage, but all the seats near the middle aisle, where the Pope walks down, were already taken. So, we didn’t get close enough to shake his hand, but it was still amazing to be close enough to see him and to be in his presence.

Later that evening, we walked 5 mins to get to Piazza Navona and had dinner, then walked another 5 mins to the Pantheon. Angel Tours offers a free tour of the Pantheon at 7pm, MWF, so we got there in time for that. We stopped for gelato on the way home at Buchianti’s just outside of the Pantheon square. Delicious!

Thursday