We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1st time in Rome...need hotel/area recommendation!

Which Rome hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 posts
Save Topic
1st time in Rome...need hotel/area recommendation!

Hello,

I will be in Rome April 10-16 and will be travelling with my 17 yr. old son and will be a little over 3 months pregnant. This is my first time in Europe and I will be travelling from Paris to Rome and back to Paris before departing home. Is there an area or hotel that anyone can recommend? My budget is about $250 US per night. I want to stay in an area/hotel that is very Italian and not so American.

Also, is it easy to commute from the airport to the city and hotels? Anything I need to consider when booking my hotel?

Thanks.

Seal Beach...
Level Contributor
2,505 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: 1st time in Rome...need hotel/area recommendation!

Chicago Girl -

Do yourself a favor and go out RIGHT NOW and get a proper map - a modern one - of Rome since it sounds like the one you have is either faulty or old or confusing.

I highly suggest a MAP EASY map - very easy to read and understand as it is hand drawn as more of an artistic map - very easy to deal with, hence the name. IT will have the entire city and the Vatican covered, with detailed close ups on the 4 or 5 major sights and the streets around them. It is made of a light plastic covered paper so they last quite well and resist water and spills. Get at any good bookstore in the map section or see website at www.mapeasy.com Costs about $6-7 and so worth it.