We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

cinque terre to venice

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
260 posts
89 reviews
Save Topic
cinque terre to venice

hello! i have never used an italian train before much less a regional train with transfers.

i will be leaving from riomaggiore and would like to get to venice in the most efficient way. i don't mind waking up early.

7:27 7:34 riomaggiore- la spezia

5 min connecting time 7:39 8:51 la spezia- pisa

20 min connecting time 9:11 10am pisa-florence

25 mins connecting time 10:25 12:33 florence- venice

i am worried about the 5 min connecting time at the la spezia train station. i just assumed that la spezia isn't very big and doesn't have a lot of different platforms.is this doable or is the schedule too tight?

if i will get REALLY stressed then my other option is:

8:56 10:38 riomaggiore-pisa

30 mins connecting time 11:11 12 pisa-florence

25 mins connecting time 12:25 2:33 florence- venice

Edited: 24 February 2012, 14:41
Imperia, Italy
Destination Expert
for Italian Riviera
Level Contributor
29,782 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: cinque terre to venice

Go for the 8.56 departure. Trains can easily arrive five minutes late. And if you miss your booked train at Florence, you have to re-arrange your reservation onto the following train. With a Base ticket, you have one hour after the departure of your booked train in which to do this.

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
86,962 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: cinque terre to venice

Alternatively, take the Regionale train leaving westbound at 10.14, Change at Levanto onto an InterCity leaving at 10.40 for Milan, and change there to a Frecce for Venice leaving at 13.07.

Only 2 changes, and you have reserved seats from Levanto to Venice.

Encinitas, CA