We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

train vs.bus tour

Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
614 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
train vs.bus tour

im new to the cinque terre forum, . We are just starting our search for a possible travel in July.

We will be staying in Montecatini Terme and would like to do a day trip to Cinque Terre. I have been reading older posts, and would like some current info: Although I realize it is cheaper to take the train on our own vs a bus tour,it seems like waiting for connecting trains (both at la Spezia and from each of the 5 towns) might make the trip a longer one?

If someone could please advise that would be great.

ALso, does anyone know if the buses have air conditioning?

thanks in advance!

Brentwood, United...
Level Contributor
2,611 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: train vs.bus tour

Even using the coach tour it will still use the train between the CT villages from La Spezia. Going on your own by train altho probably taking longer you will not be tied to a pre-arranged tour led by a guide since with the coach tour you will have to keep together as a group. Whether or not the bus has air conditioning is a bit of a gamble, some do but it depends on how efficient it will be on the day.

Edited: 04 February 2014, 20:02
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30,209 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: train vs.bus tour

Another way of reaching Cinque Terre, train Montcatini to Viareggio www.trenitalia.com Click on the UK flag for current train times

Ferry Viareggio to Monterosso www.navigazionegolfodeipoeti.it Return on the Trenitalia train to Montecatini

www.incinqueterre.com

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31,867 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: train vs.bus tour