We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Postal Problems in Venice

Which Venice hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Venice, Italy
3 posts
Save Topic
Postal Problems in Venice

Apologies if reposting something is anathema, but I figured the Venice forum would be more helpful than the general Italy one. Here's my original post:

Hi all,

I'm studying abroad in Venice, Italy, for two months. Although I've read much about the lack of accountability (and downright incompetence) of Poste Italiane, I was a bit more naive when I asked my parents to express ship a cell phone to me three weeks ago.

According to USPS, the phone passed two weeks ago. Using the same tracking number for Poste Italiane, I've learned that the phone arrived in Venice a full one week and a half ago. That means it has not yet been delivered, in nearly a full two weeks since it arrived in Venice.

So my question is: am I doomed? I've tried to navigate the postal bureaucracy, primarily at the Rialto post office, but I have been constantly rebuffed. Today, for example, I was told to go to a postal office that no longer exists. It's also been suggested to me to ask postmen on the street. None of these solutions seem too promising.

Has anyone had this problem before, and what have you done? Is there one postal office I should try? (Piazzale Roma was not too helpful the first time, but I would be willing to try it again). If my package is being held because I owe a customs fee, or because there was no delivery, where would it be?

Thanks!

Venice
Destination Expert
for Venice
Level Contributor
9,057 posts
47 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Postal Problems in Venice

If you have the tracking number I would call the parcels depot and ask them if they know where it is .