We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Opera festival 2011 - what to see?

Santa Cruz de...
Level Contributor
98 posts
33 reviews
Save Topic
Opera festival 2011 - what to see?

We have plans to go to the Arena to see an opera during the 2011 season. As a opera novice, I thought I'd throw the question out there.....which opera would you advise us to go to? I know you tend to need stamina for Aida but apart from that anything goes!

Thanks.

Verona, Italy
Destination Expert
for Verona
Level Contributor
1,624 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Opera festival 2011 - what to see?

Probably Aida is the easier to the ears of a novice... But I wait for the next post to see how many agree.

Ciao

Francesco

London, United...
Level Contributor
1,713 posts
99 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Opera festival 2011 - what to see?

Aida, hands down. It's got some great recognisable music, it's big and bold and quite easy to follow.

Definitely not Nabucco, there's really only one big number - the slave chorus.

Boheme and Traviata are quite sad but have some lovely music. Barberie is good and quite funny. Romeo and Juliet has some lovely duets but I often find Gounod a bit boring.

Island of Hawaii...
Level Contributor
1,524 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Opera festival 2011 - what to see?

Aida is spectacular, Barbiere has the famous overture, La Boheme has more recognisable tunes, La Traviata has Libiamo.....

I would recommend Barbiere for a novice.

For me, I wish I'm there to see Nabucco,...

Santa Cruz de...
Level Contributor
98 posts
33 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Opera festival 2011 - what to see?