We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

For those that have been to Sicily, any regrets?

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 posts
14 reviews
Save Topic
For those that have been to Sicily, any regrets?

Hi!

I don't know if I'll receive many responses to this but my girlfriend and I are headed to Sicily (among other places) for about 9 days in May with bases in Castellamare del Golfo in the West, and Syracuse in the East, and with a travel day stop over in Agrigento (we'll have a car).

We're interested in scenery, history, and the 'real' Sicily (and great relatively cheap food obviously!). I'm also an amateur photographer.

My question is: Were there any things that you regret doing (seeing too much Baroque architecture/too many similar ruins) or not doing (hiking Etna)? I know this is a very subjective question, but figured it might help us in the future....or not. :)

At any rate, thank you in advance for your time and we're extremely excited to experience Sicily!

Dave

Here & There
Destination Expert
for Sicily, Taormina
Level Contributor
106,390 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: For those that have been to Sicily, any regrets?

Hi davep763,

Expectations don't always match reality, and there have been negative comments about ruin-fatigue (Agrigento, Selinunte, and Segesta); baroque-fatigue (Noto, Modica, and Ragusa); crowds in August; touristy Taormina; prices in Taormina; poor road signage; difficulty driving in smaller towns and larger cities; difficulty parking; difficulty with GPS; difficulty with public transport connections; the mid-day closing inconvenience; meal times, especially the late dinner time.....

Vagabonda

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
306 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: For those that have been to Sicily, any regrets?