We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Western Sicily for small family/food lovers/a bit skint?

broadheath
2 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Western Sicily for small family/food lovers/a bit skint?

Hi there,

Going to Sicily in January for 2 weeks and have booked 1st week's stay in palermo.

We think we'd like to spend some time on the western coast too.

We don't have transport but do have a one yr old and we don't particularly want to be on the go a lot. We're into nature and wildlife, good food (preferably organic, I grow organic veg for a living) and being by the sea.

So we think it would be great for us to be in a town in an apartment (budget around £200-£250 for the week) but be near the countryside or at least not far from good food experiences (I would love to visit other organic farmers, particularly).

Also we're heading back to Palermo for a flight on the saturday and would prefer to be somewhere that we can get to palermo without too much hassle.

Too much to ask? any comments appreciated. ta

St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
20,813 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Western Sicily for small family/food lovers/a bit skint?

Jan is the off-season in Sicly. Lots of lodging and restauratns are closed in smaller towns. Public transport in western Sicly in the winter isn't the best either. if you don't have a car, the best place for you to stay in western Sicily is Trapani.

We spent 2 weeks in western Sicily in Feb 2010 but we had a rental car the whole time and we styed in a hotel in Castellammare del Golfo that had parking.

I have to say that nature and wildlife are not what I think of when I think Palermo and Trapani.

palermo
Destination Expert
for Palermo
Level Contributor
2,630 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Western Sicily for small family/food lovers/a bit skint?