We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strictness of Dress Code for Churches and Basilicas

Which Florence hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Lexington, Kentucky
3 posts
Save Topic
Strictness of Dress Code for Churches and Basilicas

I know that the dress code for churches is typically no knees, no shoulders, however from what I have read, it seems that the strictness varies from place to place. I have also found many variable comments about the SAME churches on different sites. I have never traveled to Europe before, but I definitely want to make sure I pack appropriately. Many of my skirts come either right to the top of my knees, or end at the middle of my knee (though they are by no means short or skimpy... I am actually a medical student in Kentucky, and these skirts are appropriate to wear in the clinic, which is pretty conservative). Would these be alright in some churches? If I were to need to cover more, I was also wondering if thick tights would do the trick? I have a pair of navy tights that match many of my skirts... they are quite dark and cover my legs well. They would be very easy to throw on to enter a church and then take back off upon exiting. Would this typically be considered "covering" my legs when paired with a skirt that goes right to the top of my knees? I would prefer to NOT wear pants, as I know it can be miserable walking around all day in the heat and humidity without the appropriate attire. Skirts are MUCH more comfortable. I appreciate any and all feedback, because I really want to be as prepared as possible (while packing as lightly as possible)

Watertown, MA
Level Contributor
2,556 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Strictness of Dress Code for Churches and Basilicas

Your skirt length sounds fine, no need top bring tights.

Florence Italy