We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traffic ticket scam in Florence

Columbus, Georgia...
1 post
Save Topic
Traffic ticket scam in Florence

Can anyone say what will happen if a limited zone traffic it is not

paid??

Will they require Hertz to pay?

Will they send the Mafiaoso?

Will it ruin my credit?

Do they have a way of "strong arming an American"?

Give me the bottom line if anyone knows..

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
16 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Traffic ticket scam in Florence

There are no rules over there. They drive like lunatics. And I am a New York City driver! I can hold my own anywhere in the world, but Italy takes the cake. Between the lunatic motorcycle drivers (smoking and talking on cell phones while steering with one hand) and over the center line and on the wrong side of the road and the fact they they have NO traffic control devices, I find it hard to figure how anyone gets a ticket for anything! I never saw a single cop with anyone on the side of the road. Just got back and racked up 900+ miles in two weeks from Venice down to Amalfi. Never stopped, no tickets, no hassles. But some amusing stories about the chaos that is driving in Italy. Does anyone care? Fuhgeddabowdit!

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24,701 posts
79 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Traffic ticket scam in Florence

we have driven a lot in Italy and are pretty impressed with the drivers -- if you do't do anything unexpected they will miss you -- they are a lot better than NYC drivers who seem to nail a handful of pedestrians daily -- and sure a lot better than Nashville TN drivers where everyone does their nails and chats on cell phones whlle wheeling through parking lots