We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tours of the Duomo - Help, Please

Which Florence hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
NY
Level Contributor
74 posts
48 reviews
Save Topic
Tours of the Duomo - Help, Please

I'm having some trouble deciding when to go to the Duomo for the best experience.

-1- I have seen conflicting reports about whether the cathedral opens at 8:30 or 10:00AM. Can anyone please answer this?

-2- Is it me, or is the Duomo's Web site only in Italian now? I cannot see an option to view the text in English.

-3- Should I just show up early, or will I have a better experience booking a tour (cupola or terraces + cupola) in advance?

Thank you.

FUA2011
Level Contributor
52 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Tours of the Duomo - Help, Please

When I studied there this past fall I found the best time to go was around 4:30 PM. When I would go to class at 830 everyday there would be huge lines and at 4:30 no lines!

Island of Malta...
Level Contributor
217 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Tours of the Duomo - Help, Please

Hi, is it true that to go up the dome of the Duoma it costs €10?

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
989 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Tours of the Duomo - Help, Please

The Duomo opens at 10:00.

To climb the cupola costs €8.

The cupola + Museo del Duomo (fantastic museum!) costs €11.

The cupola, Museum, Bell tower, Santa Reparata and the Baptistry costs €23.

Island of Malta...
Level Contributor
217 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Tours of the Duomo - Help, Please