We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveling to Switzerland Solo From June 8th for 7 days**

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Traveling to Switzerland Solo From June 8th for 7 days**

Hello,

I will be traveling in switzerland for my first time in June for 7 days. I will not have a car but i am looking to get an adventure experience. I would like to spend more time in the mountains with scenic views, i come from a large city so some country air would be ideal. I like to hike and spend time outdoors. Would anyone recommend an itinerary of their most loved places or must sees while i am there. Would you recommend a swiss pass etc. Any help would be amazing. I am also on a bit of a budget as i am a student. I am looking for an adventure so i do not really care for city shopping and restaurants as much. Hope this was a clear message:)

London
Level Contributor
8,329 posts
97 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Traveling to Switzerland Solo From June 8th for 7 days**

With seven days, I'd go for no more than 2-3 bases. Remember that you lose at least half a day each time you move base (packing/unpacking, checking in/out, travel). For a classic mountain experience, many people would recommend the Bernese Oberland, so maybe take some time reading about this (www.myswitzerland.com is a good start point). Often people like to have one mountain base and one lakeside base to get some different experiences - two very user friendly lakeside bases to look at would be Lucerne or Vevey/Montreux.

Have a look at the link below and click on Switzerland in 3, 5, or 10 days (about 1/3 of the way down the page).

myswitzerland.com/en-gb/…

I think the pace is too frantic, but it's a good start point.

Where are you likely flying into as this may affect recommendations.