We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

France-Switzerland in 10 days

San Jose, California
2 posts
Save Topic
France-Switzerland in 10 days

Hi all,

I've got a round trip to Paris from March 23 to April 2. This is my first time in this area and I do not know how I can use this time efficiently.

I am pretty sure that I need to consider 5 days for Paris: 1 day for Louvre (I am not sure if I want to dedicate one whole day), 1 day for Versailles, 2 to 3 days other Paris attractions. For the rest of the trip I like to visit nice Swiss alps or Chamonix (places with style of Dolomites but not that far). Also I really liked Bern.

Except Paris attractions, I am more looking for unique landscapes which cannot be seen in any other places on earth, especially where I live California.

I am taking this trip under low budget and with a large backpack, and I have plan to stay in hostels.

Please advice me with everything you think that would help me, everything: If I need to skip places, if I better rent a car rather than taking train for going to alps, sleeping in the car rather than going to hostel, etc.

In general, what would you do if you were a first-timer and wanted to see wonders of this region (France, Switzerland, and Italy) in 10 days.

Thank you.

Faroz

P.S. I am traveling alone.

Amsterdam, The...
Level Contributor
1,585 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: France-Switzerland in 10 days

Your asking for to much. Skip Italy all the way, stick to Central France, with possibly a short visit to Switserland.

Some suggestions in Central France:

Giverny; Monet gardens

Loire Valley with its castles

Chartres Cathedral, the first and most magnificent Gothic Cathedral

Alsace Region with Strassbourg

Bourgundy Region, with Dijon and Beaune, famous for its wines

French Alps with Chamonix, Lake Annecy