We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skiing in Zermatt for absolute beginners

singapore
1 post
1 review
Save Topic
Skiing in Zermatt for absolute beginners

Hi all,

My friends and I are thinking of trying skiing at Zermatt this coming December. All of us have not tried skiing before. We have been looking for suitable ski resort or areas for beginners.

I have come across the Wolli Park. But does the park offer instructor or rental of equipments? And are there any better skiing resort or area that are more affordable?

Anchorage, Alaska
Destination Expert
for Anchorage, Zermatt
Level Contributor
17,785 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Skiing in Zermatt for absolute beginners

Hi and welcome to Trip Advisor! First, Zermatt is okay for learning to ski. The Wolli Park is just an area for beginners and you have to join a class (for a fee) or hire a private instructor and rent your own equipment. There are other ski resorts with more beginner areas but if you are reasonably fit you don't ski on the beginner areas for more that two or three days anyway. Of course there are many places less expensive that Zermatt including quite a few in Switzerland but none of them have the Matterhorn!

Learning to ski takes a full week of lessons with a good instructor. Skiing is a difficult sport and can be a very dangerous sport if you are not taught well - dangerous to your well being but, maybe more important, dangerous to others on the slope with you.

I suggest you look at the Swiss tourism office website for more ideas for Switzerland

www.myswitzerland.com

and post on the French, German, Italian and Austrian forums for ideas in those countries.

Hope this helps.

Martigny...
Destination Expert
for Switzerland
Level Contributor
38,218 posts
181 reviews
Save Reply