We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Couple in Amsterdam - what will we have time to see???

Which Amsterdam hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
138 posts
67 reviews
Save Topic
Couple in Amsterdam - what will we have time to see???

We arrive in Amsterdam Airport at 4.10pm on a Thursday and our flight home is 12.15pm on the Saturday so not a great deal of time but was wanting indications of what things we will be able to see and do in that time, for a complete novice couple to Amsterdam.

We are staying at the NH Amsterdam Central hotel so not sure what's immediately nearby.

We would like to take some of the Red light district in and not sure whether to book a tour or do this solo??

Finally any suggestions on the best way to get from airport to hotel in the most time effective way, was thinking of perhaps the airport hotel shuttle service??

Maryland
Destination Expert
for Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13,706 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Couple in Amsterdam - what will we have time to see???

Everyone seems to have their fav way of getting from the airport to the city. The Connextion schuttle does cost more than the train tram but less than a taxi. It will drop you off right at the door of your lovely hotel.

What is nearby your hotel? One of the best most fun squares in the city. Lots of things to see and do.

The can't miss things though very near by? Vondalpark. Riksmuseum. VanGogh Museum. And a canal boat ride.(a must IMO) Many others I am sure but those would be the big ones for me.

RLD? Never done a tour. I am sure you can learn more about the area by taking a tour. But you sure do not need one to take an enjoyable walk through the RLD.