We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ATM Machines

merrick, ny
Level Contributor
97 posts
43 reviews
Save Topic
ATM Machines

I have a visa and mastercard debit card. Can both of these be used in the ATM machines? How can I find out which can be used in the ATM machines in Netherlands. Thanks

Mentioned in this post
Likely To Sell Out
Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields...
1,722 Reviews
from US$74.20*
Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam...
2,389 Reviews
from US$74.20*
Skip-the-Line Rijksmuseum Amsterdam...
12 Reviews
from US$22.00*
Special Offer
Zaans Schans Windmills, Tulips...
454 Reviews
from US$124.60*
US$148.50
Netherlands
Level Contributor
364 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: ATM Machines

I am not entirely sure about Mastercard but VISA can be used in EVERY ATM in the Netherlands, a few hundred in Amsterdam

and 850.000 in the whole world.

In other machines like buying train tickets it is often not possible and also a large supermarket chain like Albert Heyn does not take them.

Mentioned in this post
merrick, ny
Level Contributor
97 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: ATM Machines

Vanderveldenton: Thanks for your reply. Are you saying Albert Hein won't take credit cards for purchases? Any tips where I can purchase Gouda and Edam cheese to take bach to the United States.c

Mentioned in this post
Edam
Edam
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Netherlands
Level Contributor
364 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: ATM Machines

Gouda and Edam cheese (sealed) can be found in every supermarket, Albert Heyn has them (8,59 Euro for a 2 lbs round, sealed Edam). A big one is behind the Palace on the Dam, but they are everywhere. You'll have to pay cash.