We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

wheelchair user

Sth Wales
Level Contributor
26 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
wheelchair user

hi

we are a family of 6 travelling to Lisbon for Easter.

My mum uses a wheelchair, but is able to walk a little.

My worry is that we cannot get onto public transport. Is it easy to get on and off public transport in Lisbon with a wheelchair?

I enquired about a private trip to Fatima and was quoted 800 euros which I thought too much.

any help would be appreciated

Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
587 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: wheelchair user

I'm afraid I'm not an expert on wheelchair accessible transport in Lisbon, however, I would agree that 800 euros is a ridiculous price for your trup to Fatima.

If you have anyone in your family that doesn't mind driving then you could surely rent a wheelchair accessible vehicle for a day or two to go to Fatima. I have brought my parents there, my mother also uses a wheelchair, and it's really a fairly simple trip from Lisbon - about one hour on the A1 motorway.

As regards Lisbon, some metro stations have lifts, but I don't think all have. I assume you are aware that Lisbon in general is a very hilly city, with cobbled foothpaths, so it's not the easiest city from a wheelchair point of view. That said, it is a family friendly city and you should enjoy yourself.

Wales, United...
Destination Expert
for Fuerteventura, Istria
Level Contributor
12,424 posts
88 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: wheelchair user